The castel story
From the 17th century to today, discover the history of the property.
The genesis of the castle
During the 19th century Monsieur Mathieu SEURIN, who was a ship-owner, bought the estate. Around 1870, he bestowed on the property a fine Château, stables, an aviary, and a water tower. When he died in 1890 – under the rule of the Pope Leon XIII – his wife built a chapel, dedicating it to Saint Mathieu in his honour. It was consecrated on July 28th 1987, after seven years of construction. A year and a half later, Emma Seurin died at the age of 56.
Château de Léognan changed owner during those years. Monsieur Jean Marie DUBOS, of the renowned “DUBOS Brothers” wine merchants, became the new owner. He extended the Château with a gallery supported by four columns, and created a pond and a pen for fallow deer.
The rebirth of the property
At the beginning of the 20th century, the estate was divided again, which gave today’s property setting. A promising gravel-sand vein was discovered near the pond, and 6 hectares (15 acres) of vines were planted with the advice and help of the neighbouring estate Domaine de Chevalier, a Classified Grand Cru of Graves.
In 2006, Philippe and Chantal MIECAZE discovered the Château’s gem that represents the property and which corresponded exactly to their dreams. They became owners of the castle in July 2007.
They restored completely the Château built between the 17th century and the 19th century. Today, Philippe and Chantal are devoted to acknolewdge their wine “Château Léognan” as one of the best Pessac-Léognan appellation.